This week on the podcast we are starting to wrap things up for the year, doing some house keeping and looking back at recent trends in the market. First of all we talk a bit about the podcast going forward and have a few comments on ratings and reviews. We also look at some of the upcoming content you can expect early next year! We chat about the client survey we recently held and what the data from this tells us. From there we move into more general information on the relationship between risk and profitability and try and explain why they are so closely linked. We also get into the market’s performance this year and the apparently bad year it has had. This exploration is located in the broader context of historical data and evidence based investing strategies and we try our best to show how a bad year like 2018 is not a reason to be reactive in you investments. For this and more, join us today!

 


Subscribe to the Rational Reminder podcast


 

Key Points From This Episode:

 

  • The first critical review of the podcast. [0:01:52.3]
  • Some of the upcoming content for the new year. [0:02:52.0]
  • The recent client survey which we completed. [0:04:56.3]
  • Interesting data that we collected during this survey. [0:07:02]
  • The blog post from Michael James about our chat with Glenn Cooke recently. [0:08:57.8]
  • How is being profitable riskier? [0:12:39.9]
  • Behavioral explanations for factors and market timing. [0:15:10.7]
  • The market this year and how it has dipped. [0:16:13.3]
  • Comparing this year’s downturn with 2008. [0:17:38.6]
  • This generation’s investors and risk seeking. [0:21:04.7]
  • Understanding standard deviation in this context. [0:22:58.3]
  • The potential impact of social media on markets compared to 2008. [0:26:02.4]
  • The human bias towards action when in danger. [0:27:12.8]
  • Don’t leave your seat to get a hot dog! [0:29:04.2]
  • And much more!
  • And much more!

Tweetables:

“You can’t really compare equities and insurance. But, you can very easily compare taxable fixed income investments to say, universal life insurance policy.” — @benjaminwfelix [0:11:09.7]

“The one that’s more profitable has got to be riskier and the reason it has to be riskier is because it has the same relative price as the last profitable stock.” — @benjaminwfelix  [0:14:05.3]


Links From Today’s Episode:

Rational Reminder on iTunes — https://itunes.apple.com/ca/podcast/the-rational-reminder-podcast/id1426530582.



Benjamin Felix — https://www.pwlcapital.com/author/benjamin-felix/

Benjamin on Twitter — https://twitter.com/benjaminwfelix

Benjamin on LinkedIn — https://www.linkedin.com/in/benjaminwfelix/

Cameron on Twitter — https://twitter.com/CameronPassmore

Cameron on LinkedIn — https://www.linkedin.com/in/cameronpassmore/

The Big Bang Theory — https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0898266/

David Goetsch — https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0324477/

Robin Powell — https://www.emberregis.com/

Glenn Cooke — https://ca.linkedin.com/in/glenn-cooke-5320485

Life Insurance Canada — https://www.lifeinsurancecanada.com/

Michael James — https://www.michaeljamesonmoney.com/

Jared Kizer — https://buckinghamadvisor.com/people/jared-kizer-cfa/

Buckingham — https://buckinghamadvisor.com/

The S&P 500 Goes Supernova — https://thebamalliance.com/blog/the-sp-500-goes-supernova/

Ken Fisher — https://www.forbes.com/profile/ken-fisher/

Vanguard — https://about.vanguard.com/

Download the transcript of this episode: The Rational Reminder Podcast Episode 25 Transcript