In the first episode of the Rational Reminder Podcast for 2019, we welcome Robin Powell. Robin is a journalist and content creator who has dedicated the more recent part of his career to helping spread the word on research backed investing and turning the tide on the history of investment advice. For Robin, this all came about from an assignment he was working on and the feeling of shock he experienced when he discovered the wealth of information that is available to investors but how it is shielded by the majority of investment advisors. Robin explains these experiences and why we still see this in today’s marketplace. He chats to us about the films he has produced on the subject and the great characters and thought leaders with whom he has met. Robin is kind enough to open up about his thoughts on the future of investing, regulation and his hopes for the spread of this information. For all this and more, be sure to join us!


Subscribe to the Rational Reminder podcast

 




Key Points From This Episode:

  • Some of Robin’s background and previous work experience. [0:01:40.6]
  • Why Robin started spreading the evidence based investment message . [0:02:38.9]
  • The experience of speaking with industry leaders to make a documentary film. [0:04:07.7]
  • The impact of this and the subsequent films Robin has produced. [0:05:44.0]
  • Robin’s perspective on the Canadian financial industry. [0:06:57.8]
  • The impact of the change of rules for financial advisors in the UK. [0:09:21.6]
  • The effect of RDR and claims about reduced access to advice. [0:12:24.2]
  • Difficulties in sharing information and changing people’s minds. [0:15:06.0]
  • The role of the press in this dynamic and whether it can change [0:16:52.2]
  • Robin’s favorite interviews and encounters over the years. [0:18:07.4]
  • Looking to the future of the financial industry. [0:19:53.5]
  • Considering the role of the human financial advisor with the rise of robo-advisors. [0:21:40.1]
  • Robin’s own measure of success in his work [0:22:59.9]
  • Regulation in the pursuit of changing the approach of advisors. [0:24:28.9]
  • And much more!

Tweetables:

“We’re actually encouraged by the industry, people who are supposed to be pointing us in the right direction, we’re actually been encouraged to do things precisely the wrong way.” — @RobinJPowell [0:03:48.3]

“The whole of the world really is ripe for the evidence based investment approach but there are one or two countries in particular which in my view, are really crying out for it.” — @RobinJPowell [0:06:59.8]




Links From Today’s Episode:

PWL Capital — https://www.pwlcapital.com/

Rational Reminder on iTunes — https://itunes.apple.com/ca/podcast/the-rational-reminder-podcast/id1426530582.

Rational Reminder Website — https://www.pwlcapital.com/author/benjamin-felix/

Benjamin Felix — https://www.pwlcapital.com/author/benjamin-felix/

Benjamin on Twitter — https://twitter.com/benjaminwfelix

Benjamin on LinkedIn — https://www.linkedin.com/in/benjaminwfelix/

Cameron Passmore — https://www.pwlcapital.com/profile/cameron-passmore/

Cameron on Twitter — https://twitter.com/CameronPassmore

Cameron on LinkedIn — https://www.linkedin.com/in/cameronpassmore/

Robin Powell — https://www.emberregis.com/

Robin Powell on Twitter — https://twitter.com/robinjpowell?lang=en

Passive Investing: The Evidence — https://www.sensibleinvesting.tv/passive-investing-the-evidence

Jack Bogle — https://www.cnbc.com/jack-bogle/

Charley Ellis — https://www.cnbc.com/2018/07/18/investment-guru-charley-ellis-reveals-how-funds-lie-with-statistics.html

Eugene Fama — https://www.chicagobooth.edu/faculty/directory/f/eugene-f-fama

William Sharpe — https://www.investopedia.com/terms/w/william-f-sharpe.asp

Paul Samuelson — https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/economic-sciences/1970/samuelson/biographical/

Harry Markowitz — https://www.investopedia.com/terms/h/harrymarkowitz.asp

Winning the Loser’s Game — https://www.amazon.com/Winning-Losers-Game-6th-Strategies/dp/0071813659

Vanguard Asset Management https://www.vanguardinvestor.co.uk/

Sensible Investing TV — https://www.sensibleinvesting.tv/

How to Win the Losers Game — https://www.sensibleinvesting.tv/how-to-win-the-losers-game-documentary

Index Funds – The 12 Step Recovery Program for Active Investors — https://www.amazon.com/Index-Funds-12-Step-Recovery-Investors/dp/0976802317

Investing: The Evidence — https://www.rock-wealth.co.uk/investing-the-evidence/

RockWealth — https://www.rock-wealth.co.uk

Jason Zweig — http://jasonzweig.com/

Wall Street Journal — https://www.wsj.com/europe

Ken French — http://mba.tuck.dartmouth.edu/pages/faculty/ken.french/

Jim Cramer — https://www.cnbc.com/mad-money/

Wealthsimple — https://www.wealthsimple.com/en-ca/

Nest Wealth — https://www.nestwealth.com/

Justwealth — https://www.justwealth.com/

Betterment — https://www.betterment.com/

Stephanie Griffiths — https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/StephanieGriffiths

Sit Still and Prosper — https://www.amazon.com/Sit-Still-Prosper-Discovered-Confidence/dp/1999491106